Mohawks defeat Pioneers to win second PGCBL championship

Photo courtesy Fernando Maroto

Box Score

AMSTERDAM, N.Y. – The Amsterdam Mohawks defeated the Elmira Pioneers, 7-3, in Game 3 of the 2013 Perfect Game Collegiate Baseball League Championship Series on Thursday night at Shuttleworth Park to claim their second consecutive PGCBL title. The Mohawks prevailed in the best-of-three series, two games to one. Overall, Amsterdam has won four summer collegiate baseball championships in the last five years.

The nationally-ranked Mohawks, playing in front of a home crowd of 1,400, took control of the game with a five-run fifth inning on three hits and three Elmira errors. Amsterdam loaded the bases in a scoreless fifth with no outs against Elmira starter Jasper Adams (Ithaca) on a Josh Gardiner (Radford) single, an error and a walk to John Sansone (Florida State). Second-year Mohawk Brian Ruby (Binghamton) broke a scoreless tie with an RBI single into center field and Kevin Guthrie (Brown) brought home Amsterdam’s second run with a ground out to the right side. The next batter, Kyle Barrett (Kentucky) plated both Ruby and Sansone with a single into right field to double the Mohawks’ advantage to four. Barrett scored from second on a two-out error to cap off Amsterdam’s five-run outburst.

Trailing 5-0, Elmira battled back in the sixth against Amsterdam starter Matt Snyder (Temple 2013-14). Chris Knott (East Stroudsburg) smashed a one-out single and he moved up to third on a Ryan Plantier (Cornell) double. Dave Hoffmann (Siena) worked a walk to load the bases. With the potential tying run on deck, Elmira’s Brian Bashara (Old Dominion) hit a bouncing ball to the right side of the pitchers’ mound. Matt Snyder fielded the ball cleanly but fell down. From the Shuttleworth Park infield grass, Snyder threw home to force out Chris Knott for the second out of the inning. The Amsterdam starter then induced a pop out to second to end the bases-loaded threat and the inning.

Amsterdam’s Brian Ruby put the game out of reach with back-to-back, two-out RBI singles in the sixth and eighth innings. Ruby finished 3-for-4 with three RBI singles in his final three at-bats. All three Ruby RBI singles scored Josh Gardiner who also had three hits. Kyle Barrett went 2-for-4 with two RBI and one run scored.

Matt Snyder allowed one run on six hits over 8.1 innings. He recorded eight-straight outs between the sixth and eighth innings after walking Elmira’s Dave Hoffmann (Siena) in the sixth to load the bases. Snyder carried a five-hit shutout into the ninth. The Temple-bound southpaw struck out three and walked two in his second postseason victory. He was taken out after facing two batters in the ninth.  Mike Urbanski (Binghamton) closed out the game for the Mohawks and recorded the final two outs to help Amsterdam clinch its second consecutive PGCBL championship. Two Tribe errors did allow three runs to cross the plate in the ninth but with two outs Urbanski induced pinch hitter Jim Tunison (Misericordia) to fly out to left field to end the game.

Chris Kalousdian (Manhattan) and Chris Knott each had two hits for the Pioneers. Brian Bashara, Colby Gee (Ithaca) and Matthew Pelt (Wofford) all scored ninth inning runs. Matthew Pelt and Taylor Hillson (Mansfield 2013-14) were credited with one RBI each.

Elmira starting pitcher Jasper Adams worked 4.1 innings and yielded five runs, three earned, on five hits. Adams walked one and struck out one. He retired 11 of Amsterdam’s first 13 batters in the first four innings. Brandon Diorio (Ithaca), Anthony Roma (Herkimer County C.C.) and Anthony Ciango (Northern Illinois) all pitched in relief for the Pioneers.

Notes: Amsterdam scored at least six runs in all three PGCBL Championship Series games and totaled 20 runs for the series…The Mohawks scored 16 of their 20 runs with two outs...Amsterdam’s Josh Gardiner (Radford) batted .545 (6-for-11) in the PGCBLCS and scored five runs. Gardiner finished the PGCBL playoffs with nine hits and nine runs scored in six games…Amsterdam’s Matt Snyder (Temple 2013-14) went 2-0 with a 0.60 earned run average in two playoff starts. Snyder allowed two runs, one earned, on 11 hits in back-to-back starts against Albany and Elmira. He walked four and struck out 10 in 15.0 innings pitched…Overall, the Mohawks have won seven summer collegiate baseball championships (1988, 2003, 2004, 2009, 2010, 2012, 2013)…Amsterdam has captured back-to-back championships on three separate occasions (2003-2004, 2009-2010, 2012-2013)…Amsterdam has won two of the first three PGCBL championships.

Search Archive »

Browse by Month »

October 2021
September 2021
August 2021
July 2021
June 2021
May 2021
June 2020
May 2020
March 2020
January 2020
October 2019
September 2019
August 2019
July 2019
June 2019
May 2019
March 2019
January 2019
October 2018
August 2018
July 2018
June 2018
May 2018
April 2018
March 2018
January 2018
December 2017
November 2017
October 2017
September 2017
August 2017
July 2017
June 2017
May 2017
April 2017
March 2017
February 2017
January 2017
December 2016
November 2016
October 2016
September 2016
August 2016
July 2016
June 2016
May 2016
April 2016
March 2016
February 2016
January 2016
December 2015
November 2015
October 2015
September 2015
August 2015
July 2015
June 2015
May 2015
April 2015
March 2015
February 2015
January 2015
December 2014
November 2014
October 2014
September 2014
August 2014
July 2014
June 2014
May 2014
April 2014
March 2014
February 2014
January 2014
December 2013
November 2013
October 2013
September 2013
August 2013
July 2013
June 2013
May 2013
April 2013
March 2013
February 2013
January 2013
December 2012
November 2012
October 2012
September 2012
August 2012
July 2012
June 2012
May 2012
April 2012
March 2012
February 2012
January 2012
December 2011
November 2011
October 2011
September 2011
August 2011
July 2011
June 2011
May 2011
April 2011
March 2011
November 2010