Elmira Defeats Adirondack, 6-4

A long ride to Boonville, NY did not stop the current momentum the Pioneers seemed to be having in PGCBL conference play. The Pioneers would rack up 17 hits in a 6-4 win over the Adirondack Trailblazers.


Things got started right away for the Pioneers as they loaded the bases in the first inning and scored a run off a fielders choice.


After the first inning, everything was steady, quick and quiet for the most part as batters could not gain any momentum off the starting pitchers Andrew Sipowicz and Dylan Borawski.


Then everything was blown wide open at the top of the sixth inning. Rob Perteet led off with a deep triple to right field and would be scored by a Brian Kelly sacrifice fly. After that, the hits just kept on coming. In the sixth inning, six hits would bring in three runs to bring the score 4-0.


The bats stayed warm in the seventh as well, as four hits would bring in two runs for the Pioneers. The Trailblazers would finally score in the bottom of the seventh off a Chuck Hooker double and a Joe McHugh single. The Pioneers would carry a 6-2 lead into the 8th inning.


The bases would be loaded again in the 8th inning thanks to the top of the order of the Pioneers but they would be unable to capitalize on the opportunity. Zack Helsel would be brought in to pitch in relief in the 8th inning. He struggled to find the zone with first four batters and allowed a run to walk in. However, he settled down and limited the damage with bases loaded with Trailblazers with two strikeouts and a lineout to third baseman Joe Preziuso.


The Trailblazers would look to rally off of Cody Thompson in the bottom of the ninth inning, but the Pioneer defense would limit the damage to a run and bring the game to a close with a third to first double play, bringing the final score of 6-4.


This win would not have been possible without the steady arm of Andrew Sipowicz. In his win, he struck out nine batters, allowed two hits and no runs in six innings pitched. The losing pitcher Dylan Borawski pitched five and a third innings allowing four runs on six hits and two walks.


The Pioneers were also paced by Troy Dixon, Rob Perteet, Joe Preziuso and Blake Buckman with the bats as they all batted over .500 in this game.


Tomorrow the Elmira Pioneers will play the Trailblazers again at home tomorrow for Pink in the Park Night! It is also Chemung Canal Trust Co. Night with free poster schedules. The game’s opening pitch is set at 7:05 p.m. For more information about our next home games, visit the Pioneers front office at 546 Luce Street or contact them at 607-734-2690. For more information on the team, visit Follow us on Facebook, Twitter or follow our games live through Ustream!

Search Archive »

Browse by Year »


Browse by Month »

October 2021
September 2021
August 2021
July 2021
June 2021
May 2021
June 2020
May 2020
March 2020
January 2020
October 2019
September 2019
August 2019
July 2019
June 2019
May 2019
March 2019
January 2019
October 2018
August 2018
July 2018
June 2018
May 2018
April 2018
March 2018
January 2018
December 2017
November 2017
October 2017
September 2017
August 2017
July 2017
June 2017
May 2017
April 2017
March 2017
February 2017
January 2017
December 2016
November 2016
October 2016
September 2016
August 2016
July 2016
June 2016
May 2016
April 2016
March 2016
February 2016
January 2016
December 2015
November 2015
October 2015
September 2015
August 2015
July 2015
June 2015
May 2015
April 2015
March 2015
February 2015
January 2015
December 2014
November 2014
October 2014
September 2014
August 2014
July 2014
June 2014
May 2014
April 2014
March 2014
February 2014
January 2014
December 2013
November 2013
October 2013
September 2013
August 2013
July 2013
June 2013
May 2013
April 2013
March 2013
February 2013
January 2013
December 2012
November 2012
October 2012
September 2012
August 2012
July 2012
June 2012
May 2012
April 2012
March 2012
February 2012
January 2012
December 2011
November 2011
October 2011
September 2011
August 2011
July 2011
June 2011
May 2011
April 2011
March 2011
November 2010